Pinterest

I have to admit, I have no interest in Pinterest.  I’m not looking for any more social networks and, according to a colleague, Pinterest is pretty “girly” and that doesn’t interest me at all.  If I want to collect, save, organize and plan I look to Evernote since I figure that no one wants to see my crappy photography but me.

My colleague said that she was amazed that no one was cracking down on people sharing images that might not belong to them.  I was pleasantly surprised when I just ran across an article in BlogHer by Virginia DeBolt about just this very thing.

DeBolt quotes Amy, another BlogHer poster:

Annette explained how much she enjoyed using Pinterest (like so many of us) and then introduced “the problem.” She’s talking about copyright violations. Here’s how she describes her dilemma:

I’m personally really struggling with this. In real life I’m a photo editor. I find publication quality photos, I contact photographers, I sign contracts with them, and I PAY them for the use of their images. It’s my job and my eyes and brain are trained to look for copyright issues.

DeBolt says that Pinterist is doing some CYA.

Pinterest provides code for you to add a Pin it button to your own blog, along with the following language: “Adding a ‘Pin It’ button to your product pages or blog posts will allow your customers and readers to pin your products onto Pinterest.” They don’t mention the copyright issues that might arise from your blog’s fans pinning images from your site.

Meh.

My friend Alan (+Alan Ralph) pointed to a post by Steve Garfield discussing something that Pinterest users may not have noticed.

(from Pinterest Documentation:

Member Content
We may, in our sole discretion, permit Members to post, upload, publish, submit or transmit Member Content. By making available any Member Content through the Site, Application or Services, you hereby grant to Cold Brew Labs a worldwide, irrevocable, perpetual, non-exclusive, transferable, royalty-free license, with the right to sublicense, to use, copy, adapt, modify, distribute, license, sell, transfer, publicly display, publicly perform, transmit, stream, broadcast, access, view, and otherwise exploit such Member Content only on, through or by means of the Site, Application or Services. Cold Brew Labs does not claim any ownership rights in any such Member Content and nothing in these Terms will be deemed to restrict any rights that you may have to use and exploit any such Member Content.

This leads back to the issues that bother the bloggers from BlogHer.

The world is changing and copyright is changing as well.  It’s not always easy to identify where something came from, and there is often confusion about what is legal or moral.  I had to modify a post I made in another blog due to sheer laziness on my part. I clipped an article that I thought was good and useful and, even though I identified the original author I posted the whole thing.  This is a serious no-no and I should have known better because “all feminists share, right.”  No.  Taking intellectual property that someone has paid for and using it is not acceptable.

People who use Pinterist (or any other social media outlet) need to really pay attention.

 

 

Leave a Reply

