What Am I Doing Here?

It’s 8:30 on Sunday night and classes start tomorrow. I was here all day yesterday and I got here at 7:30 this morning. I’ve been organizing and getting ready and I am still behind. I think this is why librarians get to take research days. I could go home, but it is currently raining pitchforks and puppy dogs out there so I will sit here and blog.

We had circulation desk student orientation and I got at least some of what I wanted to accomplish done. I have a Beta version of the student schedule (it’s Beta because the first two weeks of school are not regular weeks. Regular hours are 8:30am – 3am most days, but we are closing at midnight until after Labor Day, and of course we are closed Labor Day, but I have got as close to a permanent schedule as I am going to get (with 3 students who still haven’t reported in). I actually used Outlook Calendar this year for the first time and it was pretty awesome compared to putting a grid on paper and penciling in names.

There have been a lot of changes in the past few months and I have made it my goal in life to document them and make sure everyone working here knows what is going on. This is not as easy as it sounds because, even though I have been working on a Training Manual for 25 years off and on, I just can’t get any cooperation. We are a huge library, with an enormous central collection and multiple departmental libraries, and for some reason that I can’t fathom I keep running into the idea that we can’t standardize training, because each library is different.

That may be so, but there are things that should be standardized and some people that should realize that there is no need to reinvent the wheel ten different ways all at the same time when all we need is communication and cooperation. Isn’t that what libraries should be striving for.

Part of the problem is that lack of communication is endemic in the entire university and in the state as a whole, but that is another rant for another time.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

