The future of libraries (via the effing librarian)

The future of libraries (via the effing librarian)

January 17, 2013 — kittent | Edit

The effing librarian (aka Censored Genius) has a great post about the future of libraries and how to address the issue:

Everyone is trying to come up with some solution to the non-existent problem of what should we do with our libraries. It’s a non-existent problem, imo, because I think libraries do a great job of taking a bunch of money and hiring great people and buying lots of cool, useful shit.

But as much as we do great stuff with all that money, there are people outside and WITHIN the profession who claim it isn’t enough and that libraries don’t fit into our speedy groovy shiny new world.

Fuck you, is what I say.

Because I can fix libraries with two simple words: Hey, Asshole….

…Take my advice, and just add Hey, Asshole to everything. But if it doesn’t work for you, you might have to get nastier and try Hey, Shit-for-brains.

It’s probably a solution that I won’t personally use, as we are not a public library, I want to keep my job and the biggest thing people bitch about when they come to our library is not enough study space. (I actually had a patron tell me it was the job of the university to make sure libraries had enough study space because she wanted to study on campus during exams)

However, one of the perks of my job is being able to (humorously) harass the patrons…although I have to be very careful because some people just don’t get my sense of humor or the way I interpret public service (hey, what do you want? I got my customer service skills as the night manager at a convenience store…god only knows I didn’t learn them in library school).

Leave a Reply

